Dear Parents,

We would like to give you some useful hints on how to prepare yourself and your child for visiting our paediatric dental clinic. Some of the suggestions may sound rather unusual, but you can rest assured that the actions we suggest have proven helpful in treating thousands of children.

1. The first visit to a paediatric dentist

Kinderzahnarzt-Eltern-1

The German Society for Paediatric Dental Medicine (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Kinderzahnheilkunde, DGKiZ) recommends that parents consult a dentist approx. 6 months after the first milk tooth comes through, but at the latest by the age of 2 years. The idea behind this is to give you advice as to how best to promote your child’s oral and dental health.
We will be happy to answer any questions you may have about dummies/pacifiers, bottles, use of fluorides, malpositioned teeth and diet during this prophylactic visit.

2. The best time of the day

Parents often underestimate how much the time of day influences their children’s behaviour when seeing a dentist. Experience shows that appointments in the morning tend to be calmer and are therefore more suitable for young children. Try to plan the day on which you visit the paediatric dentist so that there are few other stresses or appointments – your visit to us should be the sole and main attraction of the day. If possible, please make sure that your child is healthy and rested when it comes to see us.

3. Your presence in the room

If you have anything particular on your mind before coming into the surgery, please let us know about it when you phone to make your appointment, or at the latest when you arrive for your appointment.

In our paediatric dental surgery, parents are allowed to be in the room with their child at all times.
The presence of their parents gives young children a sense of security, which we find helpful. However, we would be grateful if you would restrain yourself when we ask your child questions and generally stay in the background during the treatment, leaving it to the members of our team to guide your child.
Your child ought to be the centre of attention!
As your child grows older, or when children are too strongly focused on their parents, we recommend that you encourage your child to go into the treatment room alone. This means it can concentrate entirely on us, making it easier for us to establish a relationship of trust.

You should definitely be present during the first consultation and/or whenever important information about the upcoming treatment is communicated.

If you disapprove of anything during a treatment session, please wait until after the session to bring it to our attention - and preferably refrain from doing so in your child’s presence. That way we can maintain a positive atmosphere between yourself and your paediatric dentist, which is essential to ensure that your child’s treatment is successful and agreeable.

4. Siblings

Our patients’ brothers and sisters are very welcome at our paediatric dental clinic. However, your child requires our full attention, if we want to make its visit as positive and beneficial as possible. For this reason, we ask you that you only bring along siblings who are able to amuse themselves – especially to visits during which we plan to carry out some form of treatment. If they are not, please bring along a companion who can look after the sibling, or else explain to your child that it will be in the treatment room on its own while you stay in the waiting room with the sibling.

5. Rewards

We advise you not to give your child a gift as a reward!
The prospect of a reward makes children suspicious, and the bigger the promised reward, the more difficult the requirements that have to be met in order to earn it.
If your child is hoping to receive something that it wants very badly, it will be under too much pressure during the treatment and this could have a negative impact on the success of the procedure.

At the paediatric dental clinic, every child receives a special coin at the end of a successful session, which it can use to collect a small surprise from our gift dispenser. Often, while children are still in the waiting room they will see other children doing this, and this makes them highly motivated to earn a gift themselves.

6. Praising and scolding

We strongly urge you not to scold your child, either before, during or after the treatment. Your child probably cannot help the fact that it has poorly brushed teeth or caries! Instead, you should praise it – but only for things that it really has done well: even if these are only minor details. During treatment, your child may be warmly praised by us, which will give it a positive feeling and a sense of pride. You may sometimes find this exaggerated, but it is part of our communication concept, because it has been shown that the feeling of having done something praiseworthy eradicates all the unpleasant memories from our minds. As a result, your child’s visits to the paediatric dentist become a pleasant memory.

7. Cancelling an appointment

All our patients come by appointment only. This means that a certain time has been set aside solely for your child, and is not allocated to any other patient! We try to keep waiting times as short as possible and we devote our full attention to your child alone.

Please always arrive punctually for your appointments. If you are likely to be late, please call us briefly to let us know.

If you are unable to make an appointment, we need to know about your cancellation as soon as possible – at least 1 day in advance. This allows us to allocate that time to another young patient.

Important: If you repeatedly cancel appointments, particularly at short notice, or miss an appointment altogether, we will be obliged to give you appointments further in the future. Our waiting list is very long and those times during which we are unable to treat patients only make it longer.

Incidentally: According to §615 (1) BGB (the German civil code), we are entitled to charge you for appointments that you have not cancelled.

8. Waiting time

We would ask you to arrive a few minutes before your appointment, so that your child has time to take off its shoes, brush its teeth and play a little.

We have found that having time to acclimatise in the waiting room has a positive effect (from a psychological point of view).

In terms of your further plans for the day, please note that there can always been unexpected delays when treating children.

Each child needs a different amount of time and attention, and sometimes these cannot be predicted. As a specialised clinic, our primary objective is to respond individually to each child.

It could equally well be your own child that needs special care and attention, and occasionally other children will have to wait as a result. Patients suffering from sudden or severe pain (e.g. after damaging a front tooth), must be taken care of as quickly as possible, and this may affect our schedule of appointments.

We therefore ask for your understanding as parents, should things sometimes take longer than expected. Please allow for some waiting time!

9. Last but not least

A child’s subconscious does not understand the concept of negation! This means that comments such as “You don’t need to be afraid” or “It won’t hurt” may themselves put the idea into your child’s head that it ought to be afraid, or feel pain. After all, this sort of advice has never been offered before going to the playground!

At our paediatric dental clinic, the entire team is trained to communicate without instilling fear and in a child-appropriate way. We would like to ask you to adopt the phrases and the words used by us so as not to confuse your child. Also, please avoid (false) promises such as “You’ll be finished in a moment.” Even after treatment, you should refrain from asking questions like “Did it hurt?” or “It wasn’t that bad after all, was it?”, so as not to remind your child of any unpleasant sensations or emotions. The crucial aspect that makes one’s experiences at the dentist agreeable is not the treatment itself but the feelings and the memories with which your child leaves the treatment room and the clinic.

Despite all the preparations, visiting the paediatric dentist is always exciting and unusual. It is important that we only go as far during the treatment session as is appropriate to your child’s age and as far as your child is comfortable with. Sometimes it takes a great deal of perseverance on all sides for us to achieve our common goal. We therefore ask that you be patient, even if the treatment may sometimes extend over several sessions.

top

Liebe Eltern,

wir möchten Ihnen einige Tipps geben, wie Sie sich und Ihr Kind auf den Besuch bei uns in der Kinderzahnarztpraxis vorbereiten können. Das Ein oder Andere mag Ihnen davon ungewöhnlich erscheinen. Sie können jedoch sicher sein, dass sich das von uns empfohlene Verhalten in vielen tausend Kinderbehandlungen bewährt hat.

1. Der erste Besuch beim Kinderzahnarzt

Kinderzahnarzt-Eltern-1

Die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Kinderzahnheilkunde (DGKiZ) rät zu einem Besuch ca. 6 Monate nach Durchbruch des 1. Milchzahnes, spätestens aber mit dem 2. Lebensjahr. Das Ziel ist es vor allem Ihnen Empfehlungen zu geben wie Sie die Mundgesundheit Ihres Kindes optimal unterstützen können.
Fragen zum Schnuller, Flasche, Anwendung von Fluoriden, Zahnfehlstellungen und Ernährung beantworten wir bei diesem Vorsorgetermin gerne.

2. Die beste Uhrzeit

Häufig unterschätzen die Eltern den Einfluss der Tageszeit auf das Verhalten ihrer Kinder beim zahnärztlichen Besuch. Erfahrungsgemäß verlaufen die Termine am Vormittag ruhiger und sind daher für kleine Kinder besser geeignet. Gestalten Sie den Tag des Kinderzahnarztbesuches möglichst frei von Belastungen und anderen Terminen - der Besuch bei uns sollte die einzige Hauptattraktion des Tages sein. Bitte sorgen Sie dafür, dass Ihr Kind möglichst gesund und ausgeruht zu uns kommt.

3. Anwesenheit im Zimmer

Sollte Ihnen vor der Beratung oder Behandlung etwas Bestimmtes am Herzen liegen, geben Sie uns bitte schon am Telefon bei der Terminvereinbarung oder spätestens an der Anmeldung einen kurzen Hinweis.

In unserer Kinderzahnarztpraxis ist es Ihnen als Eltern jederzeit gestattet im Behandlungszimmer dabei zu sein.
Bei kleinen Kindern gibt die Anwesenheit eines Elternteils ein Gefühl der Geborgenheit und ist somit vorteilhaft.
Wir möchten Sie jedoch bitten, bei Fragen, die an das Kind gerichtet sind oder der Behandlung selbst im Hintergrund zu bleiben und dem zahnärztlichen Team die Führung Ihres Kindes zu überlassen.
Ihr Kind soll im Mittelpunkt der Aufmerksamkeit stehen!
Mit zunehmendem Alter oder wenn ein Kind sich zu sehr auf seine Eltern fixiert, empfehlen wir, dass Sie Ihr Kind motivieren, alleine ins Behandlungszimmer zu gehen. Somit konzentriert es sich ganz auf uns, wodurch der Aufbau einer Vertrauensebene erleichtert wird.

Auf jeden Fall sollten Sie beim Erstgespräch und/oder bei wichtigen Informationen zur anstehenden Behandlung anwesend sein.

Sollte Ihnen während einer Behandlung etwas missfallen, so sprechen Sie uns bitte erst im Anschluss an die Sitzung darauf an - möglichst in Abwesenheit des Kindes. Nur so bleibt die positive Atmosphäre zwischen Ihnen und der Kinderzahnärztin erhalten, die Voraussetzung für eine erfolgreiche und angenehme Behandlung Ihres Kindes ist.

4. Geschwister

Geschwisterkinder sind in unserer Kinderzahnarztpraxis herzlich willkommen. Um den Aufenthalt Ihres Kindes jedoch so positiv und qualitativ wie möglich gestalten zu können, benötigt es unsere 100%ige Aufmerksamkeit. Daher erlauben wir uns die Bitte, dass vor allem bei Behandlungsterminen Geschwisterkinder nur mitgebracht werden, wenn diese sich schon selbst beschäftigen können. Ist dies nicht der Fall, bringen Sie bitte eine Begleitperson mit, die sich um das Geschwisterkind kümmern kann oder Sie besprechen mit Ihrem Kind, dass es alleine ins Behandlungszimmer kommt während Sie mit dem Geschwisterkind im Wartezimmer verbleiben.

5. Belohnungsgeschenke

Wir raten von Belohnungsgeschenken Ihrerseits ab!
Die Aussicht auf eine Belohnung wird Ihr Kind misstrauisch machen und je größer die versprochene Belohnung sein wird, desto schwieriger müssen die Anforderungen sein, die vorher zu bewältigen sind.
Dinge, die sich Ihr Kind möglicherweise sehr wünscht, setzen es bei der Behandlung zu stark unter Druck und können sich negativ auf den Behandlungserfolg auswirken.

Bei uns in der Kinderzahnarztpraxis bekommen die Kinder nach jeder erfolgreichen Sitzung eine Münze, mit der sie sich an unserem Geschenkautomaten eine kleine Überraschung abholen dürfen. Häufig sehen die Kinder bereits im Wartezimmer wie andere Kinder dies tun und sind dann besonders motiviert sich auch ein Geschenk zu verdienen.

6. Loben und Schimpfen

Wir möchten Sie ausdrücklich bitten, weder vor, während, noch nach der Behandlung mit Ihrem Kind zu schimpfen. Wahrscheinlich kann Ihr Kind weder etwas dafür, dass es schlecht geputzte Zähne noch dass es Karies hat! Loben Sie es stattdessen - aber nur für das was es auch wirklich gut gemacht hat: selbst wenn das nur eine Kleinigkeit gewesen sein sollte. Während der Behandlung wird Ihr Kind von uns möglicherweise intensiv gelobt, was ihm ein positives und stolzes Gefühl vermittelt. Es mag Ihnen teilweise übertrieben erscheinen, dies ist jedoch Teil unseres Kommunikationskonzeptes, denn es hat sich gezeigt, dass durch das Gefühl etwas Lobenswertes geleistet zu haben, alles Unangenehme aus dem Gedächtnis gelöscht wird. So bleibt der Besuch beim Kinderzahnarzt in guter Erinnerung.

7. Terminabsage

Wir sind eine reine Bestellpraxis. Dies bedeutet, dass ein Termin nur für Ihr Kind reserviert ist und nicht doppelt vergeben wird! So versuchen wir die Wartezeit möglichst gering zu halten und können uns ausschließlich um Ihr Kind kümmern.

Kommen Sie deshalb bitte stets pünktlich zu den Terminen. Informieren Sie uns unbedingt kurz telefonisch wenn Sie sich verspäten. Sollten Sie einen Termin einmal nicht einhalten können, benötigen wir Ihre Absage so frühzeitig wie möglich- mindestens 1 Tag vorher. Somit ist es uns möglich diese Zeit einem anderen kleinen Patienten zu widmen.

Wichtig: Häufige, gerade kurzfristige Terminabsagen oder das Versäumen von Terminen werden dazu führen, dass wir Ihnen nur noch längerfristig Termine geben können. Unsere Warteliste ist lang und Zeiten in denen wir nicht behandeln können, werden sie nur noch weiter verlängern.

Übrigens: Gemäß §615 (1) BGB sind wir berechtigt, nicht abgesagte Behandlungstermine in Rechnung zu stellen.

8. Wartezeit

Wir möchten Sie bitten, einige Minuten vor dem vereinbarten Termin zu kommen, damit Ihr Kind in Ruhe die Schuhe ausziehen, die Zähne putzen und ein wenig spielen kann. Es hat sich erwiesen, dass sich eine Eingewöhnungszeit im Wartezimmer (aus psychologischer Sicht) positiv auswirkt.

Bitte beachten Sie bei Ihrer Terminplanung für den weiteren Tag, dass es bei der Behandlung von Kindern immer zu unvorhersehbaren Zeitverzögerungen kommen kann. Denn jedes Kind benötigt unterschiedlich viel Aufmerksamkeit und Zeit, die sich manchmal nicht vorhersehen lässt. Als Spezialistenpraxis ist es unser höchster Anspruch, auf jedes Kind individuell einzugehen. Es könnte sein, dass auch Ihr Kind einmal besonders viel Zuwendung braucht und andere dadurch warten müssen. Auch spontan auftretende Schmerzfälle (z.B. Frontzahntrauma), die schnellstmöglich versorgt werden müssen, können unser Terminbuch beeinflussen.

Haben Sie daher als Eltern bitte Verständnis, wenn es mal länger dauert und planen Sie eine Wartezeit mit ein!

9. Zum Schluss

Das kindliche Unterbewusstsein kennt keine Verneinungen! Das bedeutet, dass Sätze wie "Du brauchst keine Angst zu haben" oder "Das tut nicht weh" Ihr Kind erst auf die Idee bringen können, es müsste Angst haben oder Schmerzen verspüren. Schließlich ist auf dem Weg zum Spielplatz noch nie eine solche Aussage gefallen!

In unserer Kinderzahnarztpraxis ist das gesamte Team in der angstfreien und kindgerechten Kommunikationstechnik geschult. Wir möchten Sie bitten, die von uns verwendeten Formulierungen/Bezeichnungen zu übernehmen, um Ihr Kind nicht zu verwirren. Vermeiden Sie außerdem (falsche) Versprechungen wie "Du bist gleich fertig". Auch nach der Behandlung sollten Fragen wie "Hat es wehgetan?" oder "War doch gar nicht schlimm, oder?" unterbleiben, um Ihr Kind nicht an ein ungutes Gefühl zu erinnern. Entscheidend für eine gute Erfahrung beim Zahnarzt ist nicht die Behandlung selbst, sondern das Gefühl und die Erinnerung, mit der Ihr Kind das Behandlungszimmer und die Kinderzahnarztpraxis verlässt.

Trotz aller Vorbereitung ist ein Besuch beim Kinderzahnarzt aufregend und ungewohnt. Wichtig ist, dass wir während der Behandlung nur so weit gehen, wie es dem Alter Ihres Kindes angemessen ist und soweit Ihr Kind es zulässt. Manchmal bedarf es von allen Seiten etwas Ausdauer bis unser gemeinsames Ziel erreicht ist. Wir bitten Sie deshalb um Geduld, auch wenn sich eine Behandlung einmal über mehrere Sitzungen erstrecken sollte.

nach oben